Skip to content

Tasty Romance Tidbits

November 19, 2012

As much as I love reading, sometimes I find myself overwhelmed by the sheer volume of books to choose from. Do I dig into my mile-long TBR list? Check out a new title that’s been floating around the blogiverse? Or do I take a chance with an Amazon recommendation on my Kindle page? Ack! Needless to say, too many choices tends to drive a gal like me crazy. Enter Lunch Hour Love Stories, a site featuring short stories penned by popular romance authors that can be read — you guessed it — during your lunch hour.

Romance in an hour! A group of writer friends wanted to pen short romances perfect for lunch time, waiting rooms, or between soccer games. They invited more friends to join them, and Lunch Hour Love Stories was born.

Doesn’t that sound just yummy? Granted, you don’t technically have to devour these romantic tidbits over lunch, but the concept of getting my fill of HEAs and romance plots without the 200-page commitment makes my mouth water. The site is still fairly new, but there are already more than a dozen short-story morsels for you to choose from. What I like most about this idea is that all the stories are never-before published (no getting tricked into buying a re-release!) and also feature high-quality, professional-looking covers. As much as I hate to admit it, I sometimes (okay, often) judge a book by its cover, and if a title looks cheap (you all know the type) I will more than likely skip over it.

I’ve already scoped out which of these I’ll be trying first: Snow Job by Christie Ridgway. I’ve had a hankering for a holiday tale and for less than the price of a Starbucks Vanilla Latte, I can get my fill of holiday romance with room left over for dessert (or aforementioned latte)!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2012 10:57 AM

    Thanks so much for featuring LHLS today! 🙂

  2. November 19, 2012 11:03 AM

    We’re so excited to be able to offer these shorts at LHLS. They’re a blast to write!

  3. Dee Davis permalink
    November 19, 2012 11:04 AM

    Thanks for talking about LHLS! Going to be some great stories by great authors!

  4. November 19, 2012 11:06 AM

    Thanks for the comments, ladies! I’m super excited to check out more from LHLS 🙂 *fires up e-reader*

  5. November 19, 2012 11:37 AM

    Isn’t this exciting? I hope readers enjoy a chance to discover these romantic shorts by some great authors! 🙂

  6. barbara@barbarafreethy.com permalink
    November 19, 2012 11:40 AM

    Hope everyone enjoys the site and finds some great stories to read!

  7. Julianne MacLean permalink
    November 19, 2012 11:43 AM

    Great blog post! I do love short reads….

    • November 19, 2012 4:19 PM

      Me and you both! They’re the perfect remedy for those short moments in life!

  8. November 19, 2012 3:50 PM

    Lattes come and go. A good romance story stays with you forever. We’re so excited about Lunch Hour Love Stories. Glad you’re excited about it, too!

    • November 19, 2012 4:19 PM

      So true! I can honestly say that a good book stays with me much longer than a delicious cup of coffee 😉

  9. November 19, 2012 8:12 PM

    Thank you for your post, Spencer. I dig short fiction, and welcome the launch of Lunch Hour Love Stories. Though if I’m really absorbed in a story, I’ll want to savor it. It’ll take me longer than a lunch hour to finish it!

    • November 20, 2012 8:17 AM

      You’ve got a point, Mary Anne — when a story is really good, I always lament reaching the end!

  10. christieridgway permalink
    November 20, 2012 11:46 AM

    Hope you enjoy Snow Job! It’s not technically a holiday story, but I do have one in the Lunch Hour Love Stories archives. Out on a Limb takes place on Christmas Eve and is available for 99 cents!

Leave a Reply

