Skip to content

Good Girls Get Giddy

August 2, 2011

Despite my already existing love for romances, there are times when I come across a book that reinforces my love of the genre even more; times that make me want to get out my soapbox and shout, “See?! Romance novels are more than just heaving bosoms and shirtless Fabios!” I recently experienced one of those moments while reading Good Girls Don’t by Victoria Dahl. This is one of those rare times where I honestly have no anecdote or clever segue leading into my review because, to be honest, to book is just too damn good great amazing to blanket it under fluffy personal anecdotes.

SYNOPSIS: As the sister of two overbearing, super-protective brothers, Tessa Donovan has a hard time convincing Detective Luke Asher that she’s not all kittens and rainbows, and whatever else girls are supposed to be made of. He notices her, of course — how could he not? — but there’s no way he would ever hit on his college buddy’s little sister. But when she comes on to him, there’s nothing in the bro-code that states he can’t flirt back… so she hopes. With the future of the family brewery at a critical crossroad, Tessa could use a good distraction, and Luke seems to be the perfect remedy to take her mind off things.

Luke is aware of the rumors circulating about him and his pregnant partner, and could care less what everyone thinks — everyone except Tessa, that is. He’s pleasantly surprised to discover Tessa isn’t as innocent as he thought, and even more surprised when things start to become serious between them. However, the couple is still lugging around their own emotional baggage, which could jeopardize their relationship before it even has a chance to get off the ground. While their feelings for each other are clear, who will take the first step in letting go of the past in order to make room for a fresh future?

Good golly, Miss Molly, can Ms. Dahl write! This is the second book of hers that I’ve read, and the second time I’ve been enamored by her punchy dialogue and smart prose. I have to say, I was torn between greedily gobbling up this book and trying to savor every bit of its delicious ingeniousness. Tessa is such a complex heroine, and there were times where I was frustrated by her decisions and absolutely fed up with her actions. However, there were also just as many instances where I applauded her salaciousness and independence, not to mention her wit. And as for Luke… well, let’s just say that he’s one authority figure I most definitely would NOT have a problem with!

The rest of the cast is just as skillfully crafted, and Dahl does an excellent job at illustrating Tessa’s brothers’ flaws which foreshadows the premise behind the next two books. Did I mention Good Girls Don’t is part of a series? Lucky us! It’s the first installment in the Donovan Brothers Brewery trilogy and I can’t wait to crack open the second book in the series, which is currently waiting for me on my kindle (thank you, NetGalley!), jumping up and down with it’s hand raised, shouting “ooh, ooh, pick me! Pick me!” like an over-eager elementary school student. Now, excuse me while go I add all of Dahl’s backlist to my TBR list…

*Click here to read my review and view my star rating on Goodreads.

**I received Good Girls Don’t as a complimentary copy for review from NetGalley.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dogsear permalink
    August 10, 2011 3:21 PM

    It’s always exciting to find a new great author and/or series. I want gaga for Garry Disher awhile ago–he’s an Aussie that writes crime fiction and I read three of his Challis novels in a row.

Trackbacks

  1. Beer ‘N’ Books « Roaming through Romance

Leave a Reply

