Skip to content

Back to Life, Back to Reality

July 15, 2011

Ahoy there! It’s been a few weeks since my last post because… I’ve been on vacation! I’ve mentioned wanting to get away before, and I finally got the chance to escape all the go-go-go and stress of life with a trip to sunny California for a much-needed break from, well, everything.

While there, I spent my days basking in desert heat, rubbing elbows with celebrities (sort of), and enjoying the Pacific ocean breeze. After two weeks of bright weather and a relaxing pace, it’s no surprise that I was a little bummed to have to return home and back to reality. Don’t get me wrong, being home isn’t all bad — it’s good to see my pup and sleep in my own bed — but I wish there was a way I could have both: west coast beaches as well as the east coast routine I’m used to.

Apparently I’m not the only one who wants to have her cake and eat it too; Grace Mills, the heroine in my current read, Craving Perfect (out this month from Carina Press), is sure her life would be perfect “if only” she were a size two, and “if only” that cute guy would notice her. Until one day she wakes up and realizes that in addition to her normal, hum-drum life, she’s living her ideal, “if only” life. At first, straddling the two extremely alternative lives seems like the perfect solution, but Grace soon realizes that the grass isn’t always greener on the other side. Is there a way to combine the two, or will she have to choose one path to permanently travel?

Everyone dreams of an “if only” life, and despite the old adage “be careful what you wish for,” I still wouldn’t mind having swaying palm trees in the background as I work and go about my daily obligations.

ROAMING QUESTION: If you could have an “if only” to make your life perfect, what would you wish for?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dogsear permalink
    July 18, 2011 7:23 PM

    I wish I had the extra income to take a nice, long vacation like you just did. My wife and I are lately restricted to very rare three-day weekends.

  2. August 3, 2011 8:15 PM

    I guess I would wish for more money too. I don’t need to be rich, just pretty darn comfortable! So that I can do the things I want to do without financial concern.

Leave a Reply

