Skip to content

E. L. James on Rocking in the Corner

June 23, 2011

How do I overcome my natural British reticence when trying to promote my own book? Well, it’s something I’m learning. Part of me just wants to mumble shyly from the back of the room “I’ve um… kind of written a book. Um… It’s a bit rude in places… but I’d love you to read it.” Then I could just shuffle into a corner and rock to and fro trying to quell my nerves while I wait. But no, I have put on my big girl panties and do my best to discuss Fifty Shades of Grey.

So what’s it about? For me it’s a retelling of the fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, though Christian – the beast in my version of the tale, is beautiful too. Well, he certainly is on the outside – on the inside he doesn’t feel that way – but I’ll leave you to make your mind up about that.

He’s an enigma. An attractive, sexy, successful, rich, worldly man, who parachutes into shy Anastasia Steele’s life, changing it irrevocably. At heart, Fifty Shades of Grey is a love story – I like to call it a love story with a kink for reasons that become all too obvious as the tale unfolds.

For me, it’s been great fun depicting the freight train that is Christian Grey through the eyes of an innocent like Ana. Like most people new to this writing business, I think, I set first of all to entertain myself. Christian is my fantasy man. He’s powerful, controlling and capable. He’s used to success and getting his own way in most areas of his life. And of course he knows what to do — if you know what I mean — and I mean REALLY  knows what to do, ladies. A woman’s body presents no issues for him at all as he proves again and um… again.

But Ana’s feelings and emotions, and his reaction to those, is a whole different ball game. He’s smitten… but he doesn’t know or understand it. That’s because he needs fixing – boy does he need fixing. He’s not Fifty Shades of F*ucked up (his words) for nothing and I think that’s one of the traits that appeals to women. A fixer-upper… we love those.

Christian is such a mixed up kid: he can be warm and funny one minute, cold and harsh the next. It’s like he’s many different people in one, and I think that’s also part of his appeal. Ana has to try and peel away his cool exterior to find the real Christian Grey beneath, and as she does she falls under his spell. He takes her on a sexual journey of discovery that she never dreamed of, one that we might all wish for, and I think that kind of sexual potency is hard to leave behind.

And I hope, it’s entertaining for the reader to embark on the journey with her.

Okay… that’s me done. I’ll go back to rocking in the corner. In the meantime, thank you to Spencer for giving me some space on her lovely blog.

***

Thank you so much, Ms. James, for shedding some insight on the tortured Christian Grey and Fifty Shades of Grey. I never thought of the couple as a new-aged Beauty and the Beast, but now that you’ve mentioned it, I can definitely see the connection! For those of you who are eager to find out more about the elusive Christian and innocent Ana, leave a comment answering the question below and the first five people to respond (be sure to leave your email address) will win a FREE copy of Fifty Shades of Grey!

ROAMING QUESTION: What is your favorite fairy tale and why?

Also, be sure to check out my review, as well as the rest of the stops on the Fifty Shades of Grey blog tour:

Where to buy

Find out more about E. L. James

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Chrissy permalink
    June 23, 2011 11:54 AM

    My favourite fairy tale is Sleeping Beauty. She can’t fight her own fate but there is someone who believes in her and fights for their love. Her Prince Charming does not give up even during the darkest times!

  2. DebbieCDC permalink
    June 23, 2011 11:58 AM

    Oh my favorite fairy tale has always been Beauty and the Beast, and I must admit I did not think of Fifty and Ana in this way until reading this post (my bad LOL). I guess I’m so smitten with Fifty myself that I never thought of him in the “beast” persona.

    Having said that, the idea that someone can see inside you for what you really are, no matter your outward appearance, has always been strongly appealing to me. We all have our inner self that no one sees (usually). But when someone does, it’s magical and wonderful!

  3. June 23, 2011 12:00 PM

    My favorite Fariy tale would be Snow White She is that young girl hidden away for reason she doesn’t understand same thing happened to me because I was the product of an affair and they hid me away so know one would find me I found out later they both had families but Snow White was who I always thought of

  4. Jen permalink
    June 23, 2011 12:01 PM

    My favorite fairy tale is Cinderella, because no matter how bad her evil step mother an step sisters make her life, she continues to dream and in the end her dreams come true. Everyone wants that.

  5. June 23, 2011 12:02 PM

    The Little Mermaid…

    While the romance part of it is sweet, lovely, and a classic…it’s just that. Classic. Boy meets girl, boy and girl somehow manage to mess it up and lose each other, but thankfully, boy and girl come around to find each other once more.
    The reason I prefer this one thought? Sebastian! Honestly, who can resist a singin’ crab?! It’s the key to sending my favorite romance over the top! 😉
    *wanders off humming….*
    Under ‘da sea…under ‘da sea….

  6. Shweta permalink
    June 23, 2011 12:03 PM

    My favorite fairy tale will be Snow white and the seven dwarfs. I love the fact that even with so many difficulties Snow White never leaves behind her true nature, her kindness and lives her life to the fullest doing what she loves to do. The friendship between the dwarfs and her is something I admire and in the end, who doesnt love a happy ever after?

  7. June 23, 2011 12:04 PM

    My favorite would be Beauty and the Beast. I would say because I feel it is so important to look beyond the exterior of a person and try to get to know the REAL inner beauty. That is where the Strength and stability of a relationship will be found. I absolutely love this story (Fifty Shades of Grey) and thank you Ms. James for writing it.
    anacksunamoun@yahoo.com

  8. June 23, 2011 12:11 PM

    I forgot to leave my email address bammers81@att.net Sorry I was so excited it sliped my mind LOL

  9. Jbabs/Jaxon/Barbara permalink
    June 23, 2011 12:14 PM

    Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs is my favorite fairy tale. Many have to come of age having suffered the slings and arrows of a wicked step-mother who leaves pain, sorrow, and scars in her wake. Friends in all sizes and shapes, like the dwarfs, drop into our lives to breathe hope and reassurance that life is for the living and worth every moment granted us. Adversity happens to all but there is an end to it. When Prince Charming appears and releases Snow White from the seemingly endless void, all is right with the world. A meaningful alliance with another person is forged and Snow White is then free to be herself and is loved and wanted. No longer is she tossed around by capricious ill winds over which she has no control. Love has found her. She matters. She can thrive and share her life with someone she adores. Isn’t that what we all want in the end?

  10. June 23, 2011 12:19 PM

    Thank you all for sharing your favorite fairy tale! And congrats the first five for winning a copy of Fifty Shades of Grey:
    – Chrissy
    – Alanah Kuhn
    – DebbieCDC
    – Bammers81
    – Jen
    You all will be contacted shortly to confirm your email & receive your copy of the ebook. I know I personally can’t wait until the next Fifty installment! I’ll be sure to keep you posted on the blog when I find out the next release date 🙂

    • DebbieCDC permalink
      June 23, 2011 12:47 PM

      Oh how exciting! Thank you!!!

    • Chrissy permalink
      June 23, 2011 1:25 PM

      THANK YOU SO MUCH! I’m so happy!

  11. Amber permalink
    June 23, 2011 12:29 PM

    My favorite fairy tale is probably… Twilight??? I know it isn’t classified as a fairytale, but it is a story about love against the odds, and, isn’t that what all fairy tales are about? I love the fact that there is a modern heroine that can be so smart and so insecure at the same time. We all struggle with finding the beauty in ourselves, never understanding when someone else comes along and sees what we can’t (ugh, sooo much like Mr. Grey!).

    Anyway, I really want this book… O.o
    ^

  12. 246kathy permalink
    June 23, 2011 6:01 PM

    Hi There Ms. James, Loved the book and was wondering when the next two might be published?? Can’t wait!

  13. carlene permalink
    June 23, 2011 6:16 PM

    MY fav is definately beauty and the beast because i like the element of danger that the beast portrays as well as the intense love that he has for belle that he would risk his life for her from that horrible gaston!

  14. Nina permalink
    July 11, 2011 5:57 PM

    Anastasia; it was the first fairytale that was ever exposed to me. The songs were wonderful and it has a sense of hope that evil doesn’t always prevail.

Trackbacks

  1. And the Winner Is… « Roaming through Romance

Leave a Reply

