Skip to content

What a Witch!

June 13, 2011

When I was younger, there was one movie that came out which had my classmates and I buzzing. It was rated R, so technically we weren’t old enough to see it, but that didn’t stop my friends from either sneaking into the theater, seeing it with their older siblings, or watching the DVD when it came out — which is what I did… or tried to do. You see, it was a scary movie and even though I claimed to have liked scary movies (definitely do not like them now), nothing could have prepared me for 81 minutes of heart-stopping, pee-in-your-pants terror. So what’s the name of the movie that caused me a week’s worth of nightmares, you ask? “The Blair Witch Project”. Ooh, just thinking about it now gives me the chills. I literally watched the entire film through tiny slivered openings between my fingers, which were pressed so hard against my face that I had a headache afterward.

For the sake of preventing another nightmare, I’ll just jump right to the point: I recently reviewed a book for RT Book Reviews that featured a heroine who was on the hunt for a crazy witch/ghost who drove people to accidentally kill themselves. Creepy, right? But, luckily for me, the book is actually pretty humorous and the leading lady is a hoot, which made reading South of Salem enjoyable — scary witches and all. Now, some of you may be laughing and calling me pathetic for thinking “The Blair Witch Project” is scary, but as someone who has wandered the woods and camped out in the middle of nowhere, I know what it’s like to be surrounded by silence so deafening you can’t help but hear things that go bump in the night. Now, while you peruse of the review below, excuse me as I flush out creepy thoughts with bright, insipid cartoons… Spongebob, here I come!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 2:28 AM

    Never fear! I feel you here. I’m sometimes still afraid of the space under my bed because of gosh darned Mischa Barton in The Sixth Sense. Shudders.

  2. dogsear permalink
    June 15, 2011 12:55 AM

    More supernatural romance! (Is it romance?) Blair Witch was pretty darn spooky…and I’m a dude!

Leave a Reply

