Skip to content

Let Them Eat Cake!

June 7, 2011

I have a SERIOUS sweet tooth, so when I came across this slice of news I knew it was just too yummy to pass up!

Tune in to the Food Network channel on June 12 (this Sunday) for a new episode of Food Network Challenge featuring… romance novel cakes! Don’t believe me? Check it out for yourself:

Love, lust…and fondant. In this ribald Challenge, Four top cake decorators must reveal their passionate side by constructing the cover of their very own original Romance Novel out of cake. The tale that best sends hearts aflutter will win a ten-thousand dollar prize. And that’s a very happy ending for one lucky cake artist.

If you’re like me, you won’t be able to resist watching what is sure to be a sugar-coated competition. And, if you’re really like me, you may want to have your own snack on hand (preferably something sweet), so that you can pretend it’s one of the decadent cakes made by the competitors… and so that you’re not tempted to lick the TV screen. Mm, my mouth is watering in anticipation!

ROAMING QUESTION: Do you have a sweet tooth? If so, what’s your favorite dessert? I don’t like to discriminate against any kind of dessert, but if I had to be stuck on a deserted island with one indulgence, it would have to be cupcakes!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. dogsear permalink
    June 7, 2011 6:00 PM

    My wife and I have been eating far too many red velvet cupcakes lately. They’re everywhere–as apparently they’re very in–and we simply can’t resist the temptation!

  2. Jane permalink
    June 13, 2011 12:06 PM

    The romance cake challenge was one of the worst challenges ever. One of the chefs didn’t know the content or appeal of a romance novel. The chef’s cake portrayed the herione killed by a bloody sword. Another chef had a great idea, but was a perfectionist with a superiority complex. She didn’t even finish half her cake. Sister, you were on the wrong show, playing the wrong game. The male contestant did an over-the-top abstraction with butterflies and flowers. The cake was pretty, but the male panel judge was offended by the bling and the romance writer guest judge didn’t think the cake reflected a book cover. The returning champion made of one of the ugliest female cake figures I have ever seen. The champ understood the concept, presented a finish, and walked away with the $10,000 prize. I bet a lot of romance readers would love to have a chance a designing a worthy winner.

    • June 14, 2011 2:31 AM

      Well darn! Cake decorating shows + romance novels = two of my favorite things. Such a shame that the episode was a bust. I was about to rush off to find the episode on YouTube. My question: what do butterflies and flowers have to do with romance novel covers?

      • June 16, 2011 11:40 AM

        How unfortunate that the challenge was such a disappointment! I guess I should be grateful that I didn’t see it and that cake and romance novels aren’t ruined for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

