Skip to content

Life Imitating Art

May 29, 2011

Yesterday I came across something in the romance world that was just too cool to not share: As part of an exhibition called the W Project, a couple recreated vintage romance book covers from Mills & Boon, a publisher that is the British equivalent to Harlequin (and now technically part of Harlequin). The woman in the photos, as well as the brains behind the concept, is Alex Holder, while the man is her real-life boyfriend, Ross. Since their release, these photos have spread through the media like a wildfire, and rightfully so!

I’ve been obsessing over these photos for a couple of days now, which got me thinking about romance covers I’d like recreated, if given the chance. The top three that come to mind are:

  • I’ll Bury My Dead by James Hadley Chase. Talk about vintage! This throwback Harlequin was published in 1953. I like it because the woman reminds me of Jessica Rabbit and her body language screams “sexy.”
  • Promises by Judith Arnold. I choose this one for two reasons: 1. It was published the same year I was born (1987) and 2. anyone who looks that happy while flying a kite deserves to be imitated.
  • No Competition by Debbie Macomber and Yukino Hara. The simple fact that this is a manga drawing, and not real people, makes it worthy of recreation.

Those are my picks, now it’s your turn.

ROAMING QUESTION: Which books would you like recreated or made with real people?

PS: Be sure to check the rest of the photos on the Oli + Alex website!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2011 8:37 PM

    Brills. Simply Brills.

    I’d love a re-do of some of the early SEP covers.

  2. May 30, 2011 4:58 PM

    Oh I don’t know…I feel like that EPIC and classic Born in the USA book you sent me in the mail, “Somebody’s Baby” would be a perfect one for me to recreate. I mean TN, 1989, high-waisted jeans. Ideal.

  3. dogsear permalink
    July 22, 2011 1:39 PM

    It’s funny that Harlequin started by releasing hard-boiled novels. I’ve read I’ll Bury My Dead. It was OK. It was one of those instances that I bought something for the cover alone, but the text didn’t really pan out. Anyway, I’d to see Say It With Bullets as a real photo: http://www.hardcasecrime.com/books_bios.cgi?entry=bk18

Leave a Reply

