Skip to content

Royal Fashionistas

April 25, 2011

You knew this was coming sooner or later — a Royal Wedding post. With less than a week to go, everyone is talking about The Big Day. Personally, I’ve had it up to HERE with Will and Kate media overload; from the dress, to the made for T.V. Lifetime movie, to the wedding ring replica… Gah! Enough already! To be honest, when the hooplah first started, I could care less. I’m neither British nor have any ties to these people, soooo I really couldn’t find a reason to get excited about The Wedding. Don’t get me wrong, I am happy for the couple and I wish them a happy and lasting marriage, but I rather reserve my excitement for people I actually know.

But (you knew that was coming sooner or later) after a while, I couldn’t help but start to pay attention to all the interviews and paparazzi photos. Which is when I noticed something: the outfits! Wedding dresses aside, Kate, her sister Pippa, and all the other royal Brit women are über stylish! From Kate’s sophisticated wrap dresses to Pippa’s funky, adorable hats, I immediately became envious of their closets and impressed by their style.

Kate may be getting married in T-minus four days, but it’s not her wedding dress I’ll be obsessing over; instead, it’s the casual, getting-coffee-while-being-snapped-by-the-paparazzi (wait, does royalty go to Starbucks?) looks that will hold my attention.

So, in honor of Kate + Pippa, and all the other stylish royal-by-association family members, I’ll be reading Random Acts of Fashion by Nikki Rivers. Pubbed in ’05, the book is from the now-nonexistent Harlequin Flipside line, which lasted from 2003-2005 and was marketed as a “humorous, chick-lit inspired imprint.”

In the story, fashionista Gillian Caine moves to Timber Bay, Michigan to open up a bright and sassy fabric shop. At least, that was her plan, until Lukas McCoy runs into her, accidentally causing her to break her arm. His punishment? Help Gillian finish setting up shop. Of course, Lukas is not at all happy about this, since he only thinks of Gillian as a city girl set on corrupting the small town and its people.

I’m only a few pages in and the heroine is already wearing satin pants and pink croc stilettos. Bold choice, but still my kinda girl! Between Gillian’s fashion choices and Kate’s wardrobe, I’ll be caught up in a whirlwind of style and designer labels for the next few days. Now, excuse me as I go drool over this month’s issue of Vogue…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. dogsear permalink
    April 27, 2011 11:50 AM

    Very well-written and clever post. I yearn for my blog to be written as well. Good work.

    • April 28, 2011 5:11 PM

      That’s so nice of you to say 🙂 Thank YOU for reading!

  2. April 28, 2011 12:04 AM

    Haha the Will & Kate rant blog posts. I know, it is completely inevitable as EVERYTHING IS ABOUT THE ROYAL WEDDING RIGHT NOW! I hate to admit it…but I watched the Lifetime movie. The shame, but in my defense the fake William was uber cute and the fashions still epic.

    Love your black from the past Harlequin series things you’ve got going on right now 😉 Let me know how this fashionista book turns out! I may have to start digging through used bookstores…

  3. dogsear permalink
    April 29, 2011 6:57 PM

    I’ll admit I too watched the Lifetime movie with my wife. (Man, was it awful!) And boy does my wife has the fever–she stayed up all night watching the wedding festivities live (we’re on the west coast in the states)…and then called in sick today!

Trackbacks

  1. I Can’t Be the Only One… Can I? « Roaming through Romance
  2. I Can’t Be the Only One… Can I? | Roaming through Romance

Leave a Reply

