Skip to content

I’ve Found Heaven…

April 14, 2011

…and it’s called the Book Nook. I’ve always considered bookstores my version of candy stores, so when the urge to browse aisles struck, I decided to go somewhere I’ve never been. I did a quick search on Yelp and came across the Book Nook, a used comic/music/book store. Turns out, it was right around the corner from me, which was even better!

Upon entering, I was surrounded by CDs, stacks of comics and the familiar smell of books. My romance-detector immediately started beeping and I found my way over to the romance section.

Oh. Em. Gee. I found the Holy Grail! There were two aisles solely dedicated to romances and series romances! I know two aisles doesn’t seem like much, but there were a LOT of books crammed onto those shelves. From vintage, taboo books dating the 1970s, to recent contemporaries, to Harlequin and Silhouette series I’ve never even heard of (more on that later)… I could go on and on. Needless to say, I was overcome with elation and overwhelming giddiness. I knew off bat I could easily spend all day in those two sections alone, but I calmed myself and decided to just stay for an hour. After all, I already knew I would be coming back *very* soon.

I thumbed through as many books as I could before finally settling on four varying titles. Grand total? $10. Can’t beat that! Plus, since I was a first-time customer, I received two “Nook bucks,” each good for $1 off my next purchase.

They say that once you go to heaven there’s no going back, but I’ve been to heaven and I plan on going back again…and again…and again. 🙂

ROAMING QUESTION: What’s your personal ‘heaven’? How did you find it?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. dogsear permalink
    April 15, 2011 4:32 PM

    Nice find–an indie joint, too, it looks like, which is always a plus. And real tangible books!

    • dogsear permalink
      April 15, 2011 4:34 PM

      Oh, forgot to add that when I lived in San Francisco, historic City Lights Books in North Beach with it’s creaky stairs that led to multiple levels and funny nooks was my book heaven:
      http://www.citylights.com/

Trackbacks

  1. Confessions of A Fashion Addict « Roaming through Romance
  2. Confessions of A Fashion Addict | Roaming through Romance

Leave a Reply

