Skip to content

Going, Going, Sold!

April 13, 2011

Oh, Lori Foster…what can I say, other than you sure do write steamy, fog-up-the-car-window scenes! Although Fantasy isn’t recent (it was previously a Blaze title, originally published in ’98), I quickly put it onto my Kindle after coming across a free (legit) download. Since I’m familiar with her other works, I knew to expect plenty of delicious scenes and tender moments…

SYNOPSIS: When Brandi spots Sebastian on stage during a bachelor auction, she can’t take her eyes off of him. He’s just so…big and overwhelming. There’s no doubt that he immediately he piques her interest, but the most Brandi plans to do is just look…or so she thinks. Unfortunately for Brandi, her sister, Shay, picks up on the vibes between Sebastian and Brandi and decides to take matters into her own hands by “buying” Sebastian as a birthday gift for her little sister.

In addition to receiving Sebastian, Brandi also gets to spend the next five days alone with him on a romantic getaway. At first, she’s unsure and hesitant, but after a little lot of coaxing from her “present” Sebastian, she agrees to go away with him. Sebastian knew he wanted Brandi from the moment he spotted her, and he has a week to make her realize she wants him too. But Brandi’s holding on to past demons, making their relationship both complicated and interesting, to say the least. For the next five days, the pair explore both each other and their fantasies. When their time is up, will the couple go back to their respective worlds, or can they get past their differences and hold on to what they shared during their fantasy vacation?

The concept behind Fantasy is one I’ve come across before, but Foster adds a twist that puts a new spin on things, freshening up the plot. I’m torn, because while I don’t want to give away said twist, there is a possibility that it won’t bode well with some readers. That being said, I strongly suggest you read other reviews that reveal the twist, and then decide for yourself if it’s your cup of tea.

Moving on — Sebastian was the ideal hero; the perfect mix of dominant alpha male and sensitive protector. I love it when the hero has the best of both worlds when it comes to personalities. Don’t get me wrong, Brandi was well-rounded as well. For someone so doe-eyed and naive, she sure knew how to put Sebastian in his place when necessary. I personally love plot lines where the hero and heroine are “stuck” somewhere alone together, so reading about Brandi and Sebastian’s vacation was like indulging in my very own getaway.

There were a few niggling details that did make me wince, however; the first being Foster’s constant repetition of Brandi’s blue-eyed description. I realize that eyes make a lot of appearances in romance books, but once you’ve mentioned their color, say, oh, 20x already, it’s safe to say readers know what color her eyes are. Also, the argument between Brandi and Sebastian in the end was weak and futile. I’m not giving away anything by saying this, but essentially they were yelling at each other because they both loved one another. I’m sorry, but what exactly is the argument here? Up until then, the story pulled me in and strung me along, so it was only natural to expect a stronger conflict. That being said, I would still recommend this book.

*Click here to read my review and view my star rating on Goodreads.

One Comment leave one →
  1. dogsear permalink
    April 14, 2011 12:06 PM

    I wish I could read as quickly as you do; I read at a snail’s pace.

Leave a Reply

